Skip to content
Edinburgh Counts — Edinburgh, in numbers.Local help →

Edinburgh · Scotland

People and living standards

City of Edinburgh council area. Every figure carries its own date.

City of Edinburgh

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

City of Edinburgh local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 436,320 in 1991 to 531,370 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

City of Edinburgh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 444,910 people in 1996; 531,370 people in 2025. 19.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — City of Edinburgh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991436,320
1992436,670
1993438,300
1994440,120
1995443,860
1996444,910
1997445,720
1998446,240
1999447,190
2000448,430
2001449,020
2002447,500
2003445,300
2004445,870
2005449,470
2006452,040
2007456,040
2008458,520
2009463,230
2010469,930
2011477,940
2012480,420
2013482,650
2014485,270
2015490,280
2016496,200
2017500,770
2018503,920
2019508,280
2020509,550
2021505,750
2022514,570
2023526,660
2024532,070
2025531,370
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

City of Edinburgh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 76,995 people in 1996; 72,980 people in 2025. 5.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — City of Edinburgh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199173,238
199274,289
199375,715
199476,803
199577,298
199676,995
199776,555
199875,670
199975,200
200074,733
200173,229
200272,380
200371,378
200470,427
200569,658
200669,422
200769,229
200869,284
200970,239
201071,259
201172,499
201273,372
201374,566
201475,842
201576,548
201677,717
201778,055
201877,241
201976,513
202075,357
202174,939
202275,337
202375,747
202475,111
202572,980
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

City of Edinburgh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 298,201 people in 1996; 371,256 people in 2025. 24.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — City of Edinburgh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991292,293
1992291,867
1993292,443
1994293,597
1995296,693
1996298,201
1997299,585
1998300,917
1999302,515
2000304,451
2001306,559
2002306,160
2003305,247
2004307,126
2005311,845
2006314,961
2007319,239
2008321,541
2009325,019
2010330,297
2011336,611
2012336,164
2013335,844
2014335,572
2015338,805
2016342,440
2017345,495
2018348,551
2019352,331
2020354,142
2021349,621
2022356,758
2023367,027
2024371,488
2025371,256
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

City of Edinburgh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 69,714 people in 1996; 87,134 people in 2025. 25% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — City of Edinburgh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,789
199270,514
199370,142
199469,720
199569,869
199669,714
199769,580
199869,653
199969,475
200069,246
200169,232
200268,960
200368,675
200468,317
200567,967
200667,657
200767,572
200867,695
200967,972
201068,374
201168,830
201270,884
201372,240
201473,856
201574,927
201676,043
201777,220
201878,128
201979,436
202080,051
202181,190
202282,475
202383,886
202485,471
202587,134
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 514,591 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · City of Edinburgh · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total436,78584.9%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 476,626 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · City of Edinburgh · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White436,77991.6%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller3880.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group4,0870.9%
Asian / Asian British: Indian6,4701.4%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani5,8581.2%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi1,2770.3%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese8,0761.7%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian4,5831%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British5,5051.2%
Other Ethnic Group3,6030.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

City of Edinburgh council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,997 per person in 1997; £31,043 per person in 2024. 158.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — City of Edinburgh council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,997
199812,377
199912,989
200013,676
200114,370
200214,890
200315,385
200416,022
200516,522
200617,473
200717,917
200818,288
200918,403
201018,529
201119,072
201219,912
201320,388
201420,891
201521,622
201621,945
201722,605
201823,434
201924,515
202024,071
202125,409
202226,878
202328,998
202431,043
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

City of Edinburgh council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 13.1% in 1997; 19.6% in 2024. 6.5 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — City of Edinburgh council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199713.1
199814.3
199914.8
200014.9
200116.2
200217.7
200318
200418.1
200517.5
200619.3
200716.8
200816.1
200914.9
201014.7
201117
201217.9
201316.4
201415.5
201513.7
201614
201714.7
201814.8
201916.3
202014.7
202116.3
202217
202318.6
202419.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · City of Edinburgh local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · City of Edinburgh local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£304,000

July 2026 · City of Edinburgh local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.